Inside Politics

UDA issues amended notice for phase II grassroots elections in 11 counties

Saturday, June 8th, 2024 10:25 | By
Evans Kidero voting in the UDA polls in Rangwe Constituency, Homabay County on May 31, 2024 (left). MP John Kiarie casts his vote in Dagoreti South on May 31, 2024 (right). PHOTOS/X (@UDAKenya)

The United Democratic Alliance (UDA) has announced the schedule for its phase two grassroots elections, slated for late June.

The National Elections Board (NEB) of the UDA on Saturday, June 8, 2024, released an amended notice detailing the dates and locations for the upcoming polling center-level elections.

The grassroots elections are set to take place over two days:

Counties Conducting Grassroots Elections on June 28, 2024:

1. Machakos
2. Kisii
3. Bungoma
4. Taita Taveta

Counties Conducting Grassroots Elections on June 29, 2024:

1. Kwale
2. Mombasa
3. Uasin Gishu
4. Tharaka Nithi
5. Nyandarua
6. Garissa
7. Wajir

Important dates to note

Registration Deadline: All aspirants must complete their registration by June 17, 2024, at midnight.

Verification and Confirmation Deadline: Candidates are required to verify and confirm their details by June 21, 2024. No further verification will be allowed after this date.

Anthony Mwaura, Chairman of the NEB, emphasized the importance of adhering to these deadlines to ensure a smooth and efficient election process.

"All participants are expected to adhere strictly to the aforementioned timelines," Mwaura stated in the official notice.

The announcement of these elections comes at a critical time for the UDA, as the party aims to strengthen its grassroots support and organizational structure ahead of future national elections.

The grassroots elections will play a pivotal role in shaping the party's leadership at the local level, potentially influencing its broader political strategy.

More on Inside Politics